What, not “Who am”, is I?

Hey, everyone, this is Hannah here.Ever since I was a kid, I had this weird thought always lingering in my mind,”Who am ‘I’?”.The kind of question when pondered over leaves you one step back from where you were before you went deep inside yourself to think of  “whose cave I am in to ask whose cave is this”?This very question seems to be abstract but if you have a good look at it, it makes sense and leaves you all the more in perplexity.Dating back to the time of the creation of the third planet in our Solar System, from there to “some” millions of years ahead to a time t, what dt interval of time could have triggered the use of the notion me?To my understanding that dt time is the most important one in the “history of all histories”.This very concept of me is a big statement in itself.Very often we use this word, unaware of the power that lies with it, unaware of unfathomable meaning that is attached to it(if it has one).But the question was simple, wasn’t it?So, considering what we have been taught(an easy question has a simple answer) the answer should be a simple one too, right?But here you see me using heavy words and referring to histories(too heavy, sigh!).Actually, it isn’t me who is asking this question, it is some “thing” who is referring itself as “me” in charge of the proceedings.The same me that the other somethings use quite often, who look similar to each other, similar in terms of the parts they possess.Ears, eyes, hair, limbs, a nose, lips etc.(Most of the things have them, no offense to anybody). One would start to think that why he/she(this is what these somethings are called as) are being referred to as “things”?Supposing Kate is currently reading this(this is how things are named because billions of them are there), Have you ever wondered why you feel (what you feel) when something happens with Kate?Kate got promoted or won a lottery prize of a whopping 25,000$, maybe she got married to the love of her life, why do “you” feel joyous?Kate failed in her Ph.D. exams or got maybe got bullied at school, Why do you feel bad? Of all the 7 Billion people in this world, Why is this “me” concerned about  Kate so much?And why has this me chosen only Kate, why not a group of Mr. and Ms’s?My second question, why should I care if anything happens to Hannah(told you in the start I am Hannah)?Hannah is just 1 one 7 Billion people, why should I care about only one of so many, why should I fear that I have to get good grades for Hannah, why do I feel bad when Hannah is subject of a bad joke? Why is this ‘I’ separately attached to Hannah or you Kate? You could just let anything happen to Kate(if,  Kate you are still following), why should “your I” care about it? You will think the answer is a simple one because I am Kate, I will feel good if anything good happens or bad or perplexed or sad or angry because whatever is happening, it is happening with me, if not me, who else will feel it?I answer you again why does “your me or I” belong you Mr.ABC or “you” as you like to call yourself?There is now no point of writing “I answer this….” after what has been written above.At the very beginning, a question was put up, “Who am I?”.I am starting to believe all this time we have been dealing with the wrong one.”WHAT IS I?”.Yes, you saw it right,Who am I, WHAT IS I? is the right question.My answer to a previous question-We are things with “our I’s”, what is yours on the above one?

–Hannah

Leave a Reply

